Posted by: grantahelms | November 11, 2011

Grieving

Today, November 11, 2011, is a day that will stand out in the minds of the Tinsley family. Not because it was Veterans Day, not because of TGIF. Today will be remembered as the day that their angel returned to Heaven. Today, after a week and a half in critical condition and on life support, Kristin Tinsley went on to be with the Lord. Though I did not know her personally, she attended school with my sons and others from our church. She had attended our church on several occasions, but I never managed to get to know her.

This being the latest tragedy in the last 2 years, I would like to reach out to the residents and students of the Kershaw, SC area. How do you reach out to those who have lost 4 fellow students and a teacher/coach in 2 years? Let’s be honest. In a time of tragedy, people don’t want to hear” They’re in a better place.” or” Their love will live in your hearts forever.” They want to know WHY. Why would God take them away at such a young age? Before they had a chance to live, to truly love, to experience life or to have their own children.

As I have said before, I don’t have all the answers. And though I don’t want to preach at this time, I have a couple of  Bible verses that I pray would bring comfort.

Colossians 3:3  For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.                                  3:4  When Christ who is our life appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

Prayers and comfort to the Sullivan, Brewer, Peach, Tinsley and Faulkenbury families.

Responses

  1. I have been there a lot, Grant. And no, we do not want to hear what you said. What we want, and need, to do is laugh. Funerals here were very strange to me. Everyone was so mournful. Not “paying your respects” reverent, but truly mournful. It was a bizarre thing for me.

    A graveside service is a solemn occasion, but you are not social there. At the wake and reception, the best thing you can say is your favorite memory. When you are paying respects, but do not know the person well enough to share a memory, try “If I can do anything for you, please call” or “I do not know how this must feel, but I would take some of the pain if I could”.

    This world is far too politically correct. The “nice” things everyone says hurts because it means they do not care enough to find something genuine to say.

    I will publish a hub about this tomorrow. Mind if I come and leave a link?
    Red
    http://mommasmoneymatters.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for the comment Anne Marie. I know you’ve been there a lot and I welcome all insight on subject. Though we are politically correct, like birth, death is something we all experience. In their own way, I think all people are genuine in the fact that they want to do something. However, everyone grieves differently.

  2. As promised, the link to the Hub “Parents burying children is unnatural.” I hope it helps. http://annmariedwyer.hubpages.com/hub/Parents-Burying-Children-is-Unnatural


Leave a Reply

Categories

