Posted by: grantahelms | November 21, 2011

What would you do ?

Today, while feeling sickly, I had the opportunity to watch a movie called ” Entry Level”. I weren’t sure in the beginning what the ” real deal ” was, but as I continued to watch, it became apparent the symbolism between the movie and real life.

As the movie started, the lead character is a chef in a small thriving restaurant. Due to circumstances beyond his control, the restaurant closes. During his time of despair, his girlfriend walks out and leaves him alone. He then begins to go to the unemployment office, where the placement manager apparently devalues him. Or so you think. After weeks of interviews, he returns and tells the manager that if he doesn’t get a job he will lose his house. This is the turning point. The manager informs him that if he is willing to come down off his ” high horse”, he can get him a job that day managing someone else’s restaurant.

Wow, that’s all it takes. Humbleness. Unfortunately, so many today have too much pride, and are not willing to humble themselves to be able to care for themselves and their families. I understand that it’s not always so simple, but sometimes it is. So, the question that I pose, is what would you do for your family? I worked at McDonald’s one time, even though I am a carpenter by trade and I have some experience operating heavy equipment. And at the time, I had a Class A CDL license to operate tractor-trailers. Looking forward to all comments. Thank you.

Responses

  1. I have done and will do what ever it take to take care of my family. I have worked at some of the worst jobs you can imagine, from pig farms to carpentry. When it comes to taking care of your family, you need to lay down your pride and be a man and do the right thing.

    • Thanks Jim. Glad I’m not the only one who feels this way.

  2. From amusement parks to bars to Wally World, I have done it all. And sometimes two and three at a time. Our families trust we will do what it takes to meet their needs.

    There is nothing wrong with a good or hard day’s work, regardless of where it is, when the work is done well. Pride comes from perseverance and successfully taking care of your family. You just do what you have to to make ends meet.

    Keep doing it,
    Red.

    • Thanks Red. You have given me a day of deep thought.

  3. What each of us will or won’t do is a matter of upbringing and conscious. I think sometimes it is not a matter of becoming humble but rather a matter of how far a person can fall or from where they are falling. Some of us have seen true bottom, while others would think where we live today our top would be the bottom. It is all a matter of perspective really.

    • Thank you Linda for the deep insight that you bring into every discussion. I thank Red for bringing you my way.

  4. I know the last 22 years has been very hard for you. I just wanted to let you know you had and still are doing a great job taking care of all of us, babe. Thank you for everything you do for us. We love you very much.


Leave a Reply

Categories

