Posted by: grantahelms | November 23, 2011

Oh Happy Day!!!

Today, November 23, 2011 is a beautiful day to me. I’m sick, and have been for 3 days. I’ve missed work, been grouchy, slept a lot and haven’t eaten much. So, why am I so HAPPY? Today is my 15th anniversary! While others are preparing turkey dinners, stuffing, smashed potatoes and cranberry sauce, I am loving on my beautiful wife. That other stuff can wait til tomorrow. Don’t get me wrong. Life hasn’t always been blissful. And sometimes, still isn’t. What you have to understand, is that my wife and I lived together for 6 1/2 years before we got married. All 4 of our children were born before we got married. 3 days before our wedding, I lost my job.

But that’s all in the past. Now, the children are mostly grown , I’ve been self-employed for 8 years, my wife and I will be Freshmen in college in the spring and we are looking forward to another 15+ years together. Now, for the guys who are reading, pay attention. These are the rules:

1) Nothing is more important than family. Don’t look back and realize that you missed it.

2)Cherish your wife. The Bible says so.

3)Bring her flowers, just because. It doesn’t matter what kind if they’re from the heart and for no particular reason.

4)Don’t give her anything to worry about. If a woman has nothing to worry about ( bills, faithfulness,etc.) she is much more loving.

5)Lastly, listen. Listen to her wants, needs and even her crazy rants. If she feels listened to, she feels loved.( I’m still working on this one.)

I guess the most important thing that I can say is that you, as a team, need to be a Family Tree. If you’re having a bad day, the wind is blowing one way. When she’s having a bad day, it blows the other. As a Family Tree, you can counter-balance each other in the storms of Life. Good luck and God Bless all who read this. Happy 15th Anniversary, Sue.

P.S. Almost forgot: PUT DOWN THE TOILET SEAT!

Responses

  1. Congrats on making it this far and on knowing what the important stuff is. Being a team certainly makes it to the top of the list and keeps you knocking those walls down together rather than knocking each other through them, doesn’t it.

    • Thanks Linda. Trust me, over the years there have been plenty of things through the wall( fists, Mountain Dew bottles, hammers). Not now though, thank God.

  2. Thank you, honey, I love you with all my heart.You got it. Thanks for not forgetting the toilet seat. LOL

  3. You are a wise man, Grant Helms.
    Hope you feel better soon.
    And Happy Anniversary! Love you guys!

    • Thanks Allison. When I started this I hoped that my rants and ravings would help someone. Even if it’s to learn about the toilet seat. Haha. Love ya’ll too.

  4. Happy Anniversary! I hope you feel better. And I hope you and Sue make it another 15 years! All my love, Red.

    • Thanks Red. You know it’s definately not easy, but it’s worth it. Right?

  5. Hi, I found you through Red.

    I absolutely love the last paragraph. Also, for some reason there aren’t many male bloggers. Not that I know anyway. Happy anniversary! .. and get better

    • Thanks for the weigh in Alexandra. I appreciate all comments.


Leave a Reply

Categories

