Posted by: grantahelms | November 24, 2011

He’s DEAD!

A couple of days ago, my friend Anne Marie  ( MommysMoneyMatters@wordpress) posted a blog about OUR American veterans. The conversation quickly escalated and brought out a variety of patriotic and heated discussions over the pride of being American, and the extent of our war machine. DEEP!! I am a proud to be an American and I am prepared to protect my family and my way of life, if needed. But, this conversation brought up a series of thoughts that had entered my mind on May 1, 2011.

At this time, I will apologize in advance for any toes that may be trampled in the process. On Sunday, May 1, 2011, I was doing an in-depth study into the Islamic psyche trying to understand WHY they want us dead. Then in the background noise of the television, I hear “He is dead!” WHO? Osama Bin Laden. After 10 years of war, raids, tips and searching, they had finally got him, the master mind of the 9/11 attacks. The man who had given the OK to kill 3,500+ innocent people. As I continued watching, people began to dance in the streets of Washington,DC and New York City. As an American, I was proud that he had been killed. As a Christian, the death of another is NEVER a proud thing.

On to my studies. Through Internet surfing, I found that terrorist attacks against U.S. properties and interests, since 1925, had amounted to 5,700+ deaths. We had reason to celebrate. Finally the world would see, DON’T MESS WITH THE U.S.! Then, somehow, I happened to see some abortion statistics: 1973-2009  153,ooo,ooo dead babies. What’s wrong with this picture? We dance at the death of a terrorist, but don’t bat an eye at destroying some of our future. How many future Presidents, pastors, wives, husbands, humanitarian leaders have we destroyed because someone couldn’t keep it in their pants. I fully understand that some abortions are medical, because of rape, etc. But, God, whether you believe or not, ordained every child. Who are we to question this? I welcome your comments and critiques. Please respond.

Responses

  1. Interesting Grant the way your mind jumps from one thing to the next. Here is a different statistic for you.

    2,448,000 fully franchised and born, in this world women have died in that same period of time due to unsafe (back alley) abortions. WHO (World Health Organizations) estimates that 68,000 women die due to unsafe abortions each year. Wonder how many of them were already mothers who simply could not feed another. How many might have been wives, future activists, humanitarian leaders, doctors. How many might have solved world problems such as hunger. How many might have been teachers leading the next generation.

    Now add to the above figure the between 2 to 7 million women who survive the illegal (back street) abortion but with life-long injuries including perforated uterus leading to loss of fertility, sepsis, and other injuries and diseases.

    I agree, no matter what our beliefs we should never celebrate the death of a human being. Where you and I disagree though are the reasons why. Our humanity should speak for us, it should tell us the celebration of another persons death diminishes us both as a nation and as individuals. We should also look to our humanity to to define our boundaries, one of these should be our agreement not to demand others live by our belief systems and definitions when it comes to faith.

    If the only thing that informs your position is your religion / faith then it should always remain a private position never a public one. By this I mean legislated, rather than shared for discussion.

    • Thank you for the spanking Linda. I am not trying to force my values on anyone. My values, religion and beliefs are what makes me uniquely ME. I understand that it is a woman’s decision to treat her body as she see’s fit. I also understand that for many women, it is a heart-wrenching decision to end a life. Sometimes, when I’m at some of the houses that I work at, I wholeheartedly wish that they had considered abortion. No child should have to suffer the degradation and humiliation that I see. And, why should I as a tax-payer have to support children that they openly tell that they are unwanted. They are just a means to an income. And though I feel for the deaths and disabilities of those who had back-alley abortions, with as much help as there is to get abortions, why not do it right? This my friend is precisely the kind of communication that I was looking for. The only way that I can appreciate others opinions, is for open communication. My beliefs are mine. I won’t beat anyone over the head to try to change their mind. But, it is my decision to pray for others. Homosexuals, many who I’m friends with, openly display their beliefs. Why can’t I? Until later.

      • Grant, you should and that is why I say for each of us our faith should always inform our individual decisions and personal choices. By this and this alone can we each come to known to our fellow man.

        The ‘tax-payer’ issue, well that is an entirely different thing. One that has to be taken apart and looked at from all its angles. On the face it always seems to be easy. We just put our stakes in the ground and say “this is my plot of land and I am king (or queen)” or “this is my dollar” and I am not paying a dime for anyone else. But for each of us can we really say that? Can we look at that child and say, I won’t pay to have them fed? Or I will not pay to have them educated? Can we look that 10 year old in the eye and say “no you must bear the child of your rapist because it is against my personal faith to pay for your abortion”, can we say that? Would you truly say to the homeless Vet, begone from that empty plot of land, no camping!

        Why should I, the tax-payer have to support the unwanted child? Because someday that child will be an adult and his experiences in this life will shape him. I would rather do all I can to provide food, shelter, medicine, education now that he is in this world than fail in my duty as a citizen and have to shelter him in a prison because of my failure.

      • Linda, I really appreciate your honesty. I appreciate your openness to dissect the issues at hand. I whole-heartedly enjoy the thought of searching every angle of the taxpayer issue. All I was asking was why we should allow someone to draw a check for not keeping their legs closed. I am not discussing the average, low income or recently unemployed person who is looking for a job. I am discussing the lazy, alcoholic, drug using, never employed people that make babies just to get a check. And, before you say it, I’m not being judgmental. This is something that I deal with on a daily basis. It pains me to no end to hear a grown-up(?) tell an 18 month old that he is nothing but a stupid, little nigger bastard who will never be nothing but that. Is this grounds for “Temporary Insanity”? Would the Law forgive me if I went Postal? This is why I do what I can to help. This is why I volunteer for programs such as Feed America, Youth Serve, Samaritan’s Feet, etc. I have never been so humbled as the first time I washed a 7 year old’s feet that appeared to have walked through a fire. Cracked, scabbed, burned…awful. As taxpayers, we have obligations. Senior citizens to get Social Security Benefits, AMERICAN VETERANS to receive the benefits that they have earned in the service of this country, free,quality,public education for all children, quality maintenance for the public infrastructure( highways, bridges,public buildings) and many others. Not to Thank someone for spreading their legs. This opinion has nothing to do with Christianity. This is all about Grant Helms.

  2. Grant, you have great standards and good morals. But I have to agree with Linda on this, the numbers don’t lie. Very interesting article, keep up the good work.

    • Thanks Jim. Just being me.

  3. Good work but you are getting yourself into hot water on this one. love you.

    • I love you too, but the truth sometimes hurts. You know, more than anyone, how bad this particular issue hurts me.

    • Taken to the next level. Grant, I do get your perspective and I do understand your anger. The issue can’t be so easily dismissed and we can’t so easily turn from it. As a nation we can say no more to those women and men who with unspeakable disregard continue to bring children into the world. We can demand the state remove those children from their care when they prove to be unfit to parent, which in my mind is the correct answer.

      What we cannot do, what we should not do is punish the child for the wrong behavior of their biological parent by stopping aid to the household.

      What we should do is up the ante. What I mean by this is more money for social workers so there are more eyes on the household. More trained foster parents who can provide for children that are removed. Better schools, even boarding schools. More focus on parenting classes. Frankly? More focus on opportunity so people stop seeing their only opportunity as making babies.

      But Grant, that is just me. I think if women saw opportunity they would take it.

      • Linda, I certainly hope that you are right about people wanting to do right. The only problem is that I don’t see it. And, I suppose many social workers have become disillusioned in the American people also. To take a story from the Bible, I feel like Jonah looking out over the wickedness trying to understand why. Why would my God love such a wicked and perverse nation? Children fall through the cracks because of a lack of funding. On this we agree. Children should not pay for the sins of the father, or mother. On this we agree. Children need a CHANCE at a future. On this we agree. Why can’t everyone else agree with us? Thank you Linda, but I MUST discontinue this conversation. My heart is BROKEN!

  4. While the discussion has progressed, I am wont to go back to the original question: What is wrong with this picture?

    A) Those are raw figures. The sheer number is meant to inflame and cause strong emotion. Not all of those are legal, legitimate nor illegal.

    B) Regardless of your stance on abortion, more than twice that number of children are aborted by natural causes, yet no one weeps for those children, in many cases not even the mother.

    C) If you would break this down to the self-serving, “I don’t have [time, money, desire] for a child RIGHT NOW”, convenience, poor planning abortions, you would find there are not many of those.

    D) Still the largest number of abortions are for HEALTH reasons. Cases where a living, breathing member of YOUR society will lose their life and potential to change the world due to a pregnancy, either wanted or unwanted.

    E) Many aborted babies were actually wanted. It is commonplace to abort severely deformed fetuses. These “lives” only potential is to be a burden, and normally a pain-filled burden at that, on society.

    F) No woman should ever have to bear the product of crime (rape is a crime in every single nation and religion [even though the degrees vary in religion]). If you believe they should, I suggest a conference with God.

    G) Regardless of my personal beliefs, I will not judge someone for the choice they make to abort. Those with a shred of moral fiber will bear the guilt, doubt, pick a negative emotion, for their choice for a lifetime. Those without any will reap the benefits of sterility in due course. Did your research turn up it only takes one abortion to decrease the probability of carrying future fetuses to term?

    H) Your tax dollars did not support all of those abortions. The abortions you do not want to support (officially called “elective abortions”) are self-pay. The money comes out of the woman’s pocket or her insurance company’s pocket. Again, not a tax-borne expense.

    I) Only state-sanctioned abortions are potentially paid for with tax dollars. Of those, only a fraction are actually paid for by the government. The government will always bear the expense of a rape abortion, but takes the opportunity to pay the remainder after insurance pays.

    J) Tax dollars pay for education, pregnancy prevention, prenatal health services and child placement in far greater proportion to abortions. If you did not, Google the expenses for Planned Parenthood. The Christians and Republicans want to demonize it as a baby killing machine, when in fact, it does more to prevent abortion than it does to perform it.

    I am not usually this harsh when it comes to questioning society. I find your snap judgment to be one of the predominant reasons why Christianity is persecuted.

    Christians are quick to condemn without the information necessary to judge and despite their God’s prohibition to judge. People of other faiths and no faith see this stereotyping as just another reason not to believe in a God who allows tragedy, death, deformity and pain to run unchecked in the world. It shows how hypocritical Christians can be by condemning the women who choose life, their own lives, over death, their own deaths.

    2 more red cents,
    Red.

    • My dearest Red,Though I had hoped this conversation was concluded, I just wanted to make a few final notations. #1 You, knowing me personally, should understand my stance. I am not a judgmental and critical person, always throwing crap up in people’s faces. I am the first to believe the words of Christ ” He who has no sin, let him cast the first stone.”. For those who have read my current post, you will understand that I definitively can not cast any stones. As for statistics, I reviewed once more before beginning this reply. According to The Center for Bio-ethical Reform, using statistics from The Alan Guttmacher Institute and Planned Parenthood, the statistics are as follows:
      Black females are 3x more likely to have an abortion than white females.
      Hispanic females are 2x more likely to have an abortion than white females.
      1% of abortions are due to rape or incest
      6% of abortions are due to health risks for either mother or child
      93% of abortions are due to social reasons( unwanted or inconvenient)
      Irregardless of statistics, politics, religion or personal beliefs, I wish that we could find a different course of action. And back to my original question: Why can we dance at the death of 1 terrorist, but appear to not be concerned with the deaths of 1.37 million babies per year? It is a sad statement about the spiritual condition of our world. Thanks, Grant

      • From both Guttmacher and WHO there are several reasons Grant, many of them having to do with access and availability to safe and effective methods of birth control. As this nation further limits that access, as well as, early education we will see more and more of this.

        • Eighteen percent of U.S. women obtaining abortions are teenagers; those aged 15–17 obtain 6% of all abortions, teens aged 18–19 obtain 11%, and teens younger than age 15 obtain 0.4%.[6]
        • Women in their 20s account for more than half of all abortions; women aged 20–24 obtain 33% of all abortions, and women aged 25–29 obtain 24%.[6]
        • Non-Hispanic white women account for 36% of abortions, non-Hispanic black women for 30%, Hispanic women for 25% and women of other races for 9%.[6]

        The above numbers are from: http://www.guttmacher.org/pubs/fb_induced_abortion.html

        Guttmacher is the best source for Abortion facts worldwide. Those numbers conflict with your numbers, in fact White women are more likely overall to obtain abortions, in part because they generally have the financial means to do so.

        • About 61% of abortions are obtained by women who have one or more children. [6]
        • Forty-two percent of women obtaining abortions have incomes below 100% of the federal poverty level ($10,830 for a single woman with no children).[6]
        • Twenty-seven percent of women obtaining abortions have incomes between 100–199% of the federal poverty level.* [6]

        Finally, nearly 62% of all abortions occur prior to the 9th week of gestation.

        You didn’t start this as a discussion on abortion Grant, but you brought the topic into the discussion. It is a sensitive one and one that is certain to attract opinions and judgment. This is especially true when your position on the subject is ‘faith’ based and so many others who have voiced these same opinions have stepped over the line in truly heinous ways that have included redefining the meaning of rape, redefining the rape victim as an “accuser”, restricting access to woman’s health care, inserting faith based instruction into public schools in place of sex education and science, shooting doctors, terrorizing women seeking help and the list just goes on and on.

        That so many of us (women) fundamentally disagree with your position might not surprise you. Whatever we might think about abortion on a personal level is left to the individual to decide. As women, we know right down to our very souls this is not a legitimate discussion for public debate. There is no baby until there is a birth, but there is a born fully enfranchised woman who we owe respect, compassion and empathy to.

  5. While I do know you, I know you are not the type to cast stones, yet I fear you are being propelled by statistics which are plainly askew. Namely, the figure 93%.

    1) Reasons for abortion are not required to obtain one.

    2) The only information required by the CDC is race, ethnicity, age, type of abortion, number of weeks gestation, marital status, numbers of previous live births and abortions and state of residence. Any other information is not required or reported.

    3) Reporting is not required by Federal mandate, so information is incomplete. The best information available is located at http://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/preview/mmwrhtml/ss5808a1.htm?s_cid=ss5808a1_e

    4) Definitions of abortion are also at issue: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1438257/pdf/pubhealthrep00157-0024.pdf

    Based on the criteria given by the Alan Guttmacher Institute (who did this survey under contract for the Center for Bio-Ethical Reform, whose sole purpose in creation was to overturn Roe v. Wade and whose website is called AbortionNO.org), I have had an elective abortion.

    As many children as I have had, I can guarantee, I never chose to abort one. However, based on their standard, I fit into the “unwanted, inconvenient” category. You see, they think I found it “inconvenient” to have a dead fetus stored in my uterus. Go ahead. Scratch your head.

    Did you know that when dead babies are taken from the womb, it is an abortion? Did you know when miscarriages are incomplete the cleaning of the womb, so the woman will not develop sepsis and die, is called an abortion? You see, since a woman’s body can do the work by itself, if a woman cannot wait until that happens naturally, she is merely exercising her “convenience”.

    Those are not considered “for health”. The only ones considered “for health” are the ones where the mother has a “pre-existing medical condition which renders pregnancy a grave risk to [her] life”.

    Never once did anyone ask if I wanted the child, had deliberately ceased birth control to conceive the child, spent months trying to conceive or if it hurt me to lose it. Numbers don’t lie, do they? I chose this.

    Since I did not have a dead baby inside me before I got pregnant, my “abortion” was for “convenience”, since, after all, the “unwanted” dead baby in my body was poisoning me. And since my pregnancy terminated before a live-birth conclusion, it is called an “abortion”.

    But then again, maybe my loss would have been celebrated by those who danced for Bin Laden. Touche.

    • To Anne Marie and Linda, Thank you both for the enlightening journey. I made a comment the other day that my mother had raised me to be a real MAN. As a man I do not understand the inner-workings of a woman’s psyche. I do not feel all that you feel. I appreciate the insight and knowledge that you have brought to my attention. I also appreciate the windows to your soul’s. Had I known that discussing my disgrace surrounding Bin Laden’s death, and the reference that I used, I don’t know in reflection, if I would do it again. It was wrong on my part, given my knowledge and background, to have used this as a reference and I publicly apologize to anyone whom I offended. Thank you for your continued support and help making me be the writer that I need to be. Love you both.


Leave a Reply

Categories

