Posted by: grantahelms | December 9, 2011

WOW!!!!

Yesterday was a beautiful, glorious, wonderful, outstanding and tremendous day! I finally found something that reached out to many people! Or was it that a friend of mine (MommasMoneyMatters) posted a link to Twitter. I don’t know. All I know is that yesterday my list of viewers doubled my all-time high. That’s not saying much, since I’ve only been doing this for 1 month, but I’m still excited! Was it the reference to cartoon characters? The fight of Good vs. Evil? Or, could it have been the general topic. Whatever it was, PLEASE leave a comment.

I’ve been so wrapped up in my personal life, that 2 days ago I forgot about Pearl Harbor. Well, I’m sure that put me with the majority. But, being the proud American that I am, it almost seems Communistic. Sure Hawaii is thousands of miles away from here, and that happened 70 years ago, but as President Truman said” it was a date which will live in infamy!”. Kind of reminds me of another date: September 11, 2001. Early morning, people living their normal everyday lives, heading to work, kissing their children goodbye, having their coffee. Then suddenly shock, dismay, terror, death and destruction. Kind of sounds exactly the same. A popular Country song asks ” Where were you when the world stopped turning, on that September day?”, but there are many who could tell you where they were on that December day. In 1983, I interviewed a gentleman about Pearl Harbor for a school report. As he recounted the events of the morning, his eyes began to well with tears. He was 19 years old( same as my second son) and was stationed on-board one of the battle ships. After breakfast, they had begun mopping decks, joking around and discussing their first Christmas away from home. Then the bombs began to fall. An explosion actually blew him into the water and this was the position that he watched the destruction from. Trying not to drown, trying not to get shot by the strafing bullets flying all around him and suffering from injuries sustained in the explosion. By the end of the day, he found out that half of his shipmates had died. The injuries that he received were enough, that after recuperation, he was sent home. And after 42 years, it seemed like he was there all over again. As I thanked him for his time and gave him a hug, he said” Son, pray that you never see anything like this.” Mr. McIntyre died shortly there after, but he left behind a legacy in my heart.

Now, I hope that I have the opportunity to do the same for my grand-children. To help them understand what happened at the World Trade Center, the Pentagon and that Pennsylvania field. I wasn’t there, but with today’s media coverage it felt so” in-your-lap”. And I also want to instill in my grand-children, the honor and respect due to our soldiers. Hats off to our service men and women, deceased, retired, discharged and current. THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE! And to our future ones, keep growing, you’ve got BIG shoes to fill, Grant

Responses

  1. Ah, PFT. I posted it everywhere πŸ™‚

    This resonates with me. I have only talked to two survivors of Pearl Harbor, but my grandfather fought in WWII. His stories, and that of Uncle Herman, made me look at war in general in a totally different light.

    I spent time on the 7th reading letters and descriptions. Most of all remembering what the sacrifice of war truly is for individuals and families.

    As to 9/11…I am not so sure I am ready for that. A few years ago I went to Ground Zero. It was a humbling experience. But I shall not bore your audience with it.

    Congrats on the increase in your traffic!
    Red.

    • Thanks Red. Wish it would have continued today. Com si, com sa!

  2. Amen! As long as there is evil in the world, we need to keep the horrors of these moments and others at the forefront, not to scare but to remind our children the consequences of allowing evil to have free reign.

    • Thanks Angela. I agree, but at times I wonder when we should close our borders, bring our soldiers home and protect our own people and renew our American jobs.

  3. I am sure this will neither help nor come as a surprise:
    Comme ci, comme ca.

    {HUGZ}
    Red.

    PS You should see some visitors from my place on your rainbow post πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Red. It’s all Chinese to me, Lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

