Posted by: grantahelms | December 13, 2011

“Starting Over Again, Where do we Begin…”

” Starting over again, where do we begin…”

When friendship or relationships end, where do we begin to pick up and repair what is broken in our lives. This has always been a tricky situation because of the differences and feelings of all parties involved. Do we never talk again? Do you apologize? Do I apologize? Do we understand that we’ve both made mistakes, or is it ALL one persons fault? Rodney King asked once” Can’t we all get along?” Several days ago, a friend told me” Life’s not that simple”. That’s when it hit me, Life is not that simple. Why? Pride, insecurities, bitterness, ignorance and attitudes. Due to pain and anger, many people continue to hang on until bitterness becomes HATE! Why do things have to reach this point before we sit up and take notice? In the Bible it specifically states,” Do not let the sun set on your anger/wrath”. Many people claim to be Christians, so why not live it? Being a Christian means to be a living, breathing, example of Christ. Christ taught( not preached) that those without sin should cast the first stone, judge not lest you be judged, love others even when you don’t like them, live every day for the Lord. If you need any more instruction, read the Manual! On a human note, learn to be silent and listen. Yes, listen. It may be a hard thing depending on how your ears are wired. Some of us are blessed with the gift of listening. Some of us are even more blessed, we can tune out repetitive noises. You would be amazed how much a queried look and a steady nod can comfort someone, even when you’re not hearing them for the fifth time. Sad but true. I am human! People spend thousands of dollars every year listening to ” self-help gurus” trying to find the answers to life. Why? Every Sunday ( or Saturday depending on your faith) any honest, Bible believing church will help you find the answers to life for FREE. Yes, you heard me right, for free. If they guilt trip you into an offering, you’re not there yet. Keep looking. You can find it if you look hard enough. Lastly, if all else fails, be nice. Be sociable. Be cordial. You don’t have to be friends, you don’t have to like each other, you don’t even have to talk or look at each other. I would suggest that you don’t until you’ve had time to recuperate. Just remember, you DO NOT have to like someone to love them. And as the recuperation process continues,even if you find that you CAN’T be friends, you can be sociable and at the same time you will be maturing, HOPEFULLY! Love you all and God bless you til the next time, Grant

Responses

  1. Very well said, my friend. Very, very well said.
    Love you, Grant!
    Red.

    • Thanks Red. A friend told me once ” We feel, therefore we write”. I wrote this in reference to ALL parties involved. That they could apologize and ask forgiveness for any indiscretions or misconceptions. Know what I mean? I hope everyone does. Love you, Grant

  2. Great one babe, love you.

    • Thanks Baby. You know what kind of volcano I can be. These are just pre-eruptions. Love you, Grant

  3. Very well put Grant, but some people feel that they are above other people, and don’t feel as if they need to apologize to the person/ people they hurt. They live in a fairy land where everything is about them. Thanks Grant

    • Understand the fairy land Jim, I know a lot of people who live there. Unfortunately for me , I had to grow up long ago. I cannot live in Never Land and keep up with my daily RESPONSIBILITIES. And, I don’t have time to use the magnifying glass and tweezers to find your splinter because I’m to busy trying to deal with my own LOGS. Love you, be here for you and will continue to listen, Grant

  4. Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called a child of God. you go, Grant.

    • Thanks Jim. As you know, it is required for us to reach out to others WHERE THEY ARE. If it’s in a slum, at the office or even on the Internet. Thanks for being there to lift me up and mentor to me, Grant

  5. Nice post Grant. Great way to plug church attendance too! 🙂 If only we could reverse the “see you through a telescope and me through a microscope” mentality and realize we’ve probably done many of the same things to others without even realizing it.

  6. Thanks Angela. Have to plug when and where I can, without stepping on others toes” CRUNCH!!”. I have gotten so sick and tired of people trying to tell me what I can say and when I can say it! If you DON”T want to hear about how I feel God has touched my life, or blessed my family, or given me the Spirit of Giving or softened my heart to the children; STOP READING! That is your choice. No skin off my teeth. I will continue until I stop breathing. Oh Happy Day! Back to you Angela, I’m sorry for the outburst. I mean, I don’t beat people over the head with my Bible, don’t tell them that they’ll die and go to Hell, don’t condemn them for daily acts of fornication, adultery, lying, stealing, cheating, lust, etc. I have to much to do taking care of my own. Sorry Angela. Guess I better sign off before I get started again. God Bless You, Grant

  7. Very well done Grant. I haven’t been able to catch up till just now. This is well spoken and insightful. Forgiveness is sometimes sought where it is not called for, hurt feelings sometimes difficult to mend. Growing up, well we all do it at different rates, but at the end of the day we have to do it if for no other reason than those around us demand it.

    Life isn’t always simple. Sometimes those we love don’t love us back. You are dead on, sometimes the best we can hope for is a nod in the parking lot.

    • Thanks Val. Good to have you back, Grant


Leave a Reply

Categories

