Posted by: grantahelms | January 2, 2012

So now we begin…

As the New Years celebrations, worship services and family dinners come to a conclusion, I begin to look forward to the year ahead. Or maybe that’s my stomach saying that it is over-expanded. Either way, I have been compiling a list of things for the new year. Notice, I didn’t call them resolutions!

1) Continue to care for the 4 children in our care.

2) Acknowledge the need to strive hard on returning to classes for the first time in 27 years.

3) Strive to love my family to the best of my abilities.

4) Resolve to apply what I learn in class to my home life and my business.

It’s definitely not going to be easy. Being the sole provider for a family of six has never been easy. When the oldest moved, well was forced out, things became a little easier. Finally, I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. With 2 of my other sons being Seniors in high school this year, and the baby being a Junior, things were looking up. Then we received our new 4. Needless to say, things are a little hectic at times, but they are manageable. And as for the past,well that’s what it is. I have resolved not to focus or dwell on the past, and strive for a bright and beautiful future. At some point in time, we will have to tell these wonderful children that Mommy’s not coming home anytime soon. The saddest thing for me was two weeks ago when the 6-year-old asked me ” Poppy, is Mommy in jail, AGAIN?” Oh the life that these children have lived. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure that there have been good times, many, many good times, but for a 6-year-old to ask that, it’s unsettling. What other things must they know or understand, that is beyond my scope of comprehension? When I was six, all I needed to know was that Daddy would be home in 2 weeks, cartoons would be on every Saturday morning, there would always be food in the house and you better watch for Mr.Love’s bull on your way through the pasture, to the pond to go swimming. So, I have resolved, to the best of my abilities, to care for these children as long as the proper authorities see fit. As for school, that’s like Hurricane Katrina looming on the horizon. Few things in this life scare me. In my line of work, I deal with dogs, bats, spiders and snakes on a regular basis. I work with things such as lead paint, mold and asbestos. I clean up sewage spills, remove piles of garbage that people have accumulated for years and have to remove dead animal carcasses. All of this, as gross and unhealthy as it is, doesn’t intimidate me as much as going back to school. But, once again, I have resolved to do my best for my family and our future.

Lastly, I resolve to love my family to the best of my abilities. Right now, my children probably think that I’m crazy or have reached a mid-life crisis. However, in a kind of screwy sort of way, I am striving to continue their education. My wife and I have ALWAYS taught our children to LOVE everyone as themselves. To do unto to others as you would have them do. So, I guess taking these children in is like the final exam. To give of yourselves 24/7, share food, rooms, BATHROOMS, family time, private time and at the same time, help someone else survive the physical and mental strain of being away from Family. My children may hate us now, but it is my sincere wish that one day they will understand the need for these actions.

So, as we go into this new year, all Gung Ho for quitting smoking, losing weight, finding the right mate, lowering your cholesterol or just plain eating better, I CHALLENGE YOU, every one of you, to reach out to others. You don’t have to take in 4 children, or build a house, or donate thousands of dollars to the needy. Some need a little food. Some need a little encouragement. Some elderly people would be happy for someone to talk to. Rake leaves, cut grass or go grocery shopping for the elderly. None of these items are too big not to be accomplished at least once. And the rewards, in your heart and theirs, is tremendous. Good luck to all and don’t forget…God Loves You and so do I, Grant

 

Responses

  1. Congratulations! I have nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award- http://allaboutlemon.com/2012/01/02/an-awe-inspiring-new-years-surprise/ Happy New Year!
    Enjoy!
    Dolly

    • Thanks Dolly! Have no idea what the Versatile Bloggers Award is all about, but I guess I’ll have to check it out. Thanks for your continued support and inspiration. I just write what’s on my mind. Hope it’s not too far in left-field for most. God Bless You, Grant

  2. Return to school, yeah! I know you can do this Grant, many adults do and I believe you have the commitment that will carry you through.

    The kids, tell them what they can understand and need to know. You and your wife are doing an amazing thing for these children. You will know in your heart what is right. They can take the truth if that is what is necessary as long as you are also giving them a loving, safe and secure home.

    The rest Grant, these are give me’s. You are doing this already aren’t you.

    Happy New Year!

    • Thanks Val. I guess it’s like I’m going to be a starting freshman in High School. Going to be at the bottom of the totem pole. Not knowing what to expect. Not knowing how much education has changed in the past 27 years. Lord, help me! As for the children, they are settling in nicely. Not much discourse as far as settling into the routine, following the rules of the house, going to a new school, making new friends and their appetites are finally slowing down. There are some legal issues on the horizon, but I feel that things will go well. Child Protective Service is happy that they are in a safe, happy and stable environment. As for my family, yes it’s a given. Will always love and encourage, no matter what. God Bless You, Grant

  3. Good for you on going back to school. I am actually finishing my master’s degree up right now. There are times I get overwhelmed, but one step at a time and it comes together.

    • Congratulations on the Masters, Derek. Years ago, I resigned myself to the fact that I would always be LABORER. Who needs higher education to work with their hands daily? After working for myself all these years though, I have decided that the only way to make it right is taking Business Administration courses. I ‘m not sure how far I will take it, but God will be my guide. He knows what the future holds and he knows what I’ll need to get there. Thanks for your continued inspiration. God Bless You, Grant

  4. Just your style, Grant, Gung HO. You always seem to find a way to get things done when they need to get done. You have a great biiiiggggg heart and anybody that doesn’t know that needs to see that. I give you all the credit for being the man you are, my hat is off to you my friend. GOD BLESS YOU!

    • Thank you BROTHER. Having a big heart and acting on these feelings are two different things. Many people feel the need to help when they see commercials on TV, but then they change the channel without getting off the couch. Getting off the couch and giving of yourself is hard work. So, if anyone has resolved to get off the couch and exercise, I urge you to exhaust your energy helping others. As for the credit, it all goes to God. Without him, I am nothing! God Bless You Too, Grant

  5. 1. That just got legally easier, but will remain as tough as you let it.

    2. You can do this. So, just do it. You have made a success here. No sense thinking you will not make a success of school as well.

    3.You do this now. Well, except for when you go to the shed and mumble things, but I promise not to tell everyone about that.

    4. You do not really have a choice here. You absorb things and subconsciously apply them…especially the good lessons. The bad lessons you do, too, just by exercising what NOT to do.

    And I take your challenge and do it every single week. And being the mean Momma I am, require my progeny to do the same.

    Since you resolved to meet all of your goals, that does make them resolutions. o.O

    Blessings & Love,
    Red.

    • Thanks Red. Don’t know at times what a success I am, but I give it the best shot. I just pray that the return to school isn’t making the plate over-flow. As for the family and friends, well yes that’s a given. Unconditional love. As for others, it’s always been a burden. Several years ago(about 15) I went to an Amway seminar where the speaker said “Broke people can’t help broke people!” Though I understand what he meant, he just didn’t understand the theory of unconditional love. Sure, I can’t take everyone’s worries away, but if I give a little everyday to one person, and all of my friends do also, slowly things will get better. Slow but sure is always better than a quick fix. Well, I better stop before this reply becomes another post. God Bless You, Grant

      • If you have spent any time at my place, you know some of the best posts come from the comments!

        As to your Amway rep, he does not get off the couch. As to being a laborer, Christ was a carpenter by trade. As to education, it has changed…it has gotten easier.

        Once I thought education was easier because I had gotten older (and it follows, wiser), but when I looked back at the things we had learned, they were far more difficult than what is in the educational offering now, niche education aside.

        Chin up. 2012 is going to be a bright year for us all.
        Red.

      • Thanks again Red. Just hoping, and PRAYING, for the best. As for the comments, I still read your Friday Night Fights. Keep up the good work, Grant

  6. Grant, as the father of the 4 you have and as a friend, I say thank you for all you have done thus far. I’m not sure as to what you mean by “legal issues” but, I sure hope that there isn’t anyone trying to take all four of my children away from me. I have worked too hard for too long to lose my children. If it were up to me and not children services, all four of my children would be at home with me (daddy) where they belong. As for the person(s) that may be thinking of taking legal custody of my four children have no idea of the fight that lies ahead. I will fight for ALL of my children till the day of my last breath. My children mean the world to me and I will not now or ever allow for my world to be taken from me.

    Thanks,
    John

    • Thanks for the admonition John. As for the legal implications, they refer to CPS plans if the mother faces long-term incarceration. Will talk tomorrow about this. Thanks again for the read and the comment. God Bless You, Grant

  7. Great read Grant. As someone with a widely colored past, it is a given not to let it stand in the way. Do your time, then move on. Hope to read more in the future.

    • Thanks Mark. I’m glad to hear someone with a past having an optimistic attitude. God Bless You, Grant


Leave a Reply

Categories

