Posted by: grantahelms | January 21, 2012

COURAGEOUS!

Recently, my family and I watched the new movie by Sherwood Pictures called “Courageous”. Over the past few years we have viewed, and collected, the 3 previous movies from Sherwood. As wonderful as I feel about the previous movies, this new movie has given me new perspective on my life. I don’t want to ruin it for those who haven’t seen it YET, but the base line of the movie deals with men’s roles in their families. As usual, being produced by a Christian organization, the movie deals with real-world issues from a Christian perspective. At one point in the movie, one of the characters, while suffering from loss, pain and hardship, develops a “Resolution” which he shares with his 4 closest friends. It is as follows:

I DO solemnly resolve before God to take full responsibility for myself, my wife and my children.
I WILL love them, protect them, serve them and teach them the Word of God as the spiritual leader
of my home.
I WILL be faithful to my wife, to love and honor her, and be willing to lay down my life for her as
Jesus Christ did for me.
I WILL bless my children and teach them to love God with all their hearts, all their minds and
with all their strength.
I WILL train them to honor authority and live responsibly.
I WILL confront evil, pursue justice and love mercy.
I WILL pray for others and treat them with kindness, respect and compassion.
I WILL work diligently to provide for the needs of my family.
I WILL forgive those who have wronged me and reconcile with those I have wronged.
I WILL learn from my mistakes, repent of my sins and walk with integrity as a man answerable to God.
I WILL seek to honor God, be faithful to His church, obey His Word and do His will.
I WILL courageously work with the strength God provides to fulfill this resolution for the rest of my life and for His glory.

“But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord” Joshua 24:15

From the movie Courageous.

This is a powerful message! I know that many discredit my Christian beliefs for varying reasons, but I think that this “Resolution” could transcend the various religious walls. And for those completely opposed to religion in any form, drop the religious connotations and follow the rest. We CAN make a difference. At the beginning of the year, I challenged my readers to reach out to others. I had ALMOST no response! Now, once again, I am challenging you. Maybe I’ll get a better response since most of these things are within your COMFORT ZONE. Your family and your house. How about it MEN, are you ready to resolve to get off the computer, the television and the couch to make your life, the lives of your family and your friends better? Will you take a stand or continue to sit?

Following are the other movies from Sherwood Pictures:

1) Flywheel

2) Facing the Giants

3) Fireproof

Also available, from Affirm Films, is a movie called “Faith like Potatoes” which is an awesome movie based on a true story. Hope you enjoy. God Bless You All, Grant

Responses

  1. I also enjoyed this movie and would recommend it to everybody that I know that needs some kind of help in there life. This movie is very up lifting in so many ways and to top it off a real tear jerker. Thanks for sharing this with us Grant.

    • Anytime Jim. I feel that it is my responsibility, not just as a Christian but as a huMAN being, to help others where they are in any way that I can. God Bless You, Grant

  2. Agree! A must see for all husbands and fathers.

    • Thanks Brother Jim. It is an absolute “must see” for anyone. Though geared to help men understand their perspective roles in life, it also could help women to understand and help their husbands to accept their roles in life. It is also motivational in doing what is “right”, even at the cost of a job or close personal friendships. Thanks for the feed back. God Bless You, Grant

  3. I enjoy the movie and I think that even women could do a resolution to our husbands and family and friends. This movie like all the other Sherwood movies touched my heart and made me think about what I can do better in my walk with Christ and with my family. Thank you babe. I love you.

  4. Thank you Baby. As always, the pictures from Sherwood seem to transcend most, if not all, barriers. I love you too. God Bless You, Grant

  5. I have not seen the movie yet, but have been told by many to go see it. It sounds very inspiring. I have watched all of the other ones and I have found that each one gets better.

    • Thanks Derek, it is a must see for ANYONE wanting to have a better relationship with their family, friends and the world at large. And like the others, it just keeps getting better. God Bless You, Grant

      • I just saw the movie last night…really good, you were right.

  6. Love it! I have not seen flywheel, so that’s on my list now. I have also not seen Courageous yet. My son just bought it and is bringing it for us to view together as a family next time he visits. It has already made a difference in his life and the life of many men around the nation and further. I think men have so much to do with the way society (family, church, …) goes. We need strong men who stand up for what’s right. Thank you for sharing. Angie

    • Thanks Angie. They are all excellent movies with outstanding messages. I saw this morning that there is a new one coming out soon. I’ll have to check it out. The whole man assuming their roles issue is very interesting, but have you ever noticed how much flak they catch when they do. Stand up and be strong men. God Bless You, Grant


Leave a Reply

Categories

