Posted by: grantahelms | April 11, 2012

What is SUCCESS ?

” Always bear in mind that your own resolution to succeed is more important than any one thing.”   Abraham Lincoln

 In the course of my last blog, and the ensuing comments, the matter of SUCCESS was brought to light. This quote from President Abraham Lincoln has always been dear to my heart. Some time in the past, I read a list of all the failures that he accomplished prior to his presidency. Sorry that I don’t have the list for clarification, but, by today’s standards, he was a HUGE LOSER! But through hard work, determination and perseverance, he finally became President. I guess that made him successful, right? Sherry Lansing, chairman of Paramount Pictures, was quoted with the following: “The major difference I’ve found between the highly successful and the least successful is that the highly successful stick to it. They have staying power. Everybody fails. Everybody takes his knocks, but the highly successful keep coming back.” WOW! This is a highly successful person describing what it takes, right?

On Easter, while perusing some old journals of mine, I came across an entry about a friend of mine that I felt may be pertinent to the conversation at hand. In the interest of time, I will share part of the entry below.

September 22, 2009   Today my heart is heavy. Though at times I wonder why I call him my friend, today I found out that Curtis has cancer. Many times he has managed to irritate me. Many times I felt that he had stabbed me in the back. However, at this time, I am very remorseful for all of these feelings. My friend Curtis is part of a dying breed. He is a no-nonsense, factual to a fault, honest person. If you want to hear a lie, don’t ask his opinion. Though he seems to be a gruff, hard-nosed individual who follows his own agenda, he has a very soft spot for his “FARM”. The care and attention he shows while tending his garden and animals is amazing. Though previously being diagnosed with asbestos poisoning, every day he gets up, feeds and waters the chickens and goats, then spends the rest of the day working in the yard and garden. Recently I had the opportunity to care for his animals while he was on a short stay at the hospital. Actually, more than I wanted to. The morning of the fourth day, after watering and feeding, I sat on the swing under the shade tree. Sitting there in the shade, listening to the sounds of chickens clucking, goats baying and crickets serenading, I felt the most relaxed that I have been in years. Then I began to understand! Amid the chores, bills, sickness and general headaches of life, this was Curtis’ little slice of Heaven on Earth. This was a place of meditation and reflection. Though I can’t possibly know what he thinks of at this time, I imagine that it is filled with joy and pain. Remembering childhood on the farm, his parents, the son that he had lost several years before and the thoughts of those that he would leave behind when his time comes….

Well, Curtis passed away January 1, 2010, the goats and chickens are gone and the woods are taking over the small “FARM”. Do you consider Curtis successful? I DO! Why, you may ask? I say because he was HAPPY. I have concluded, in my definition, that to be happy with your life, your family, your job or anything else that you aspire to do, constitutes SUCCESS!

“What is your definition of SUCCESS?”

“Do you feel that your life is SUCCESSFUL?”

“What can you do to feel more SUCCESSFUL?”

Thank you all for continuing to follow my blog even with the POST lapses. School while be out for summer in the middle of May, so hopefully I can have time to post daily. As always, God Bless You and I love you, Grant        

Responses

  1. Success is definately not measured by the world’s standards. In my book, success is bringing a smile to the face of a loved one, doing something you enjoy, giving life a shot, ….

    • Thanks for the comment Angie. I really enjoy getting others input. God Bless You, Grant


Leave a Reply

Categories

