Posted by: grantahelms | May 12, 2012

End Of Semester…YEAH!!!!

Hello! Is anyone there? Anyone? Oh, there you are! Sorry it’s been so long since I’ve posted. As I said previously, something had to give. Now I’m back and ready to roll. I’ve had many things on my mind since college started. Now I have time to let it go. But first, how was college? Interesting, for lack of a better word. About a week and a half ago, I kind of looked like the image on the left. We still have the “grand-kids”. Between them, work, school and church, I’ve really been stressed and stretched. I can’t count the nights that I’ve been up until 1:30 or 2 am doing homework. It’s all good though, I finished the semester with a 98.8 in College Skills and an 83.2 in Algebra. According to the college grading scale, that is an A and a B. My GPA after the first semester is 4.0. Now I am fairly confident that I made a good choice going back to school. Thanks to all for the strength and encouragement. You made all the difference.

After 27 years, I found that my mindset toward college had changed. I had never cared about college and never thought of going. However, as school began, I found that I was motivated. As I surveyed those around me, I was thankful that I had waited so long. Many of the young people, fresh out of high school, didn’t understand the Algebra anymore than I did. Unlike me however, they let their pride get in the way and would not seek help. This would cause them to blame everyone but themselves for their sorry grades. Why? As I pondered this question and continued to study, the answer came to me in my College Skills class. They are victims. Not necessarily victims in the traditional sense, but victims none the less. They are victims of society. In today’s society we have lost our sense of common sense. What do you mean you may ask. Think about it. Everything has a warning today. “Surgeon Generals Warning: Smoking causes lung cancer, emphysema and may complicate pregnancy.” “Warning: Coffee may be HOT.” “Warning: Consumption of alcoholic beverages may impair your ability to drive.” All of these things are common sense. But the one that really gets me are plastic bags.”Danger: To avoid suffocation, keep away from babies and children.” What idiot doesn’t know this? What has this taught us as a society? Always blame someone else. What does it teach convicts? If you break into my house and I shoot you, if you don’t die, you can press charges for assault with a deadly weapon. Where is the sensibility in that?

Yes, I may be ranting, but as I said I’ve had plenty of time to think. And this my friends, is what my College Skills class was all about. Getting to know who you REALLY are and what it will take for you to truly succeed in life. It’s really kind of funny. For 44 years I’ve imagined myself as a quiet, reserved individual who doesn’t like to “rock the boat”. However, as I studied myself and was truly honest with my feelings, I found that I had many deep-seated emotional things that had been subconsciously buried. As I continued it revealed to me that I have a “passive-aggressive” mentality. This was truly enlightening! Once I knew what was wrong with me, it was easy to begin making change. Liar! Every day has been a struggle. Now I understand why I procrastinate. Why it’s hard to finish what I start. Why I have a hard time saying “No!”. But I have been working on it. That is the good thing about knowledge. But knowledge and motivation are like oil and water. You must force them to stay together, even though they never actually mix. So the next time you begin to wonder why you do things the way you do, dive deep to discover who you really are. Good night my friends. As I catch up on my reading I will keep in touch. God Bless You, Grant

Responses

  1. Glad you’re back :). College is so much better as an adult, especially as an adult not raised as a victim! Knowing what’s wrong with us is only half the battle. Unfortunately, it’s the easier half 🙂 Angie

    • Thanks for the come back Angie. It’s good to hear from you again. I’m going to try to get to your blog tomorrow. Hit Derek’s tonight. God Bless You, Grant

  2. Well done on the college thing. I am glad to hear it is working out. In my own experience, I did better in my graduate studies than I did my undergrad. The only thing I can figure is that I am much busier now, so I needed to be more focused. I think it is worth the effort. You won’t regret it.

    • Thanks for the reply Derek. As academically challenging as the Algebra was, the College Skills class was the most demanding. To make the most of it, you must be completely honest with yourself. There in lies the biggest challenge. God Bless You, Grant

  3. You hit college 103 on the dot. It makes to think and dive deep into yourself and I know how hard that is for the both of us. I am so proud of you, Grant. I love you very much.

    • Thanks baby. I love you too. God Bless You.

  4. Good job Grant, but I have to take one exception. The younger college student is not a victim, not of themselves or of society. But then I don’t do the whole victim thing.

    • Thanks for the comments. Just stating my humble opinion. God Bless You, Grant


Leave a Reply

Categories

