Posted by: grantahelms | June 23, 2012

Being Kind in an Unkind World

Yesterday was a tough day for me. After suffering through shingles all week, it was time to perform an eviction. Normally these are simple procedures where I go in with the deputy, set the property out and change the door locks. Case closed. Go home. Come back 48 hours later to haul the remainder off. Yesterday was not that case! The lady was still there! Still there trying to pack the belongings of her life into a variety of boxes and bags. As I entered the residence, it was apparent to me that we would be there several hours. As I slowly surveyed the accumulation in one of the rooms in the back of the house, the lady slowly entered weeping uncontrollably. Immediately my heart sank! This was crazy! I was here to kick this woman out of her house and all I wanted to do was hold her. I wanted to tell her that everything would be okay. I wanted to tell her that I understood. But… it’s not okay and I don’t understand! Slowly, I walked to the lady and wrapped my arms around her. As I began to console her, I began to weep. She slowly began to tell me how she never imagined her life being like this at 60 years old. Watching everything that she worked for slowly washing down the drain. How her children (grown) wouldn’t have a place to call home anymore. It was at this point that I would have given anything to simply walk away. However, in the sense of the greater good, I resolved to give her what she needed most at that moment… Kindness and Respect. Slowly, but efficiently, we began packing her belongings and stacking them neatly in the yard. After about an hour, I walked in while she was talking on the phone with a friend. She relayed to her friend that her heart was broken however, her mind was at peace because God had sent some “Mercy-naries” to help her pack. I was floored! I’m here being the bad guy, and she’s praising God for me. As we continued to work, I asked her about the word “Mercy-naries” and she explained to me that it was short for “Merciful Missionaries”. She continued to explain that anyone could have performed this job but God had sent us to show her kindness and respect. And for this she was thankful! Finally, after a few hours, we had completed the job. With a wistful look, she turned and walked away. I locked the door and walked to my vehicle. Before leaving, we all hugged and she thanked us once more for being so caring. As I drove away I couldn’t help but say a silent prayer for her. It was a prayer of thanksgiving.

For those of you who don’t know me personally, this is just a small sample. Thankfully I have only had to do this 4 times in 8 years. However, this was the hardest by far. And contrary to what some may think, this lady was not uneducated or even poor. She has a degree in Business and a certificate in Childhood Development. She was operating her own “in-home” daycare. However, after her husband took the mortgage money and left, she simply couldn’t catch up. This is far too common today. Many don’t see it, but I do daily. People who have been knocked down, kicked around and left in the dirt for others to judge. How about this: Next time you see someone down, struggling and looking for support, put yourself in their shoes. Just remember that we are ALL one breath away from a death, a divorce or an unemployment line. Kindness and respect go a long way toward healing the spirit. You may not be giving them a place to live or food to eat, but if you treat them with dignity, they can hold their heads up and move on.

Why is it hard to help others who are down?

Is pride a determining factor in how we treat others?

Have you ever been in a similar situation? Either side?

Thanks to all who may read this. I appreciate the comments and the openness of all who enter. As always, God Bless You, Grant

Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Salam Gemilang.

    • Thanks for the re-blog. I wish I could get everyone to understand what many go through. Unfortunately, many just don’t care. This is just a sign of the times. Have a blessed day, Grant

  2. I know How you felt yesterday, That broke my heart to babe. I do pray that she is able to get her house back.

  3. A little kindness goes a long way. Thanks for sharing this story. I think people can learn a lesson from it.

    • I hope so Derek. I’ve always said that the best posts are the one’s that come from the heart. Unfortunately, many don’t seem to have a heart. God Bless You Derek, Grant

  4. Grant, you are an amazing person! we can rarely find sympathetic individuals nowadays. I truly enjoyed reading your article here and sure I have learned important things here.

    • Thank you Sonny. It’s not me that’s amazing, but God within me. God Bless You, Grant

  5. Wow! That would definately be hard. But, you are right. We don’t know how people got where they are. We can assume, but we can’t know. Showing respect to all, regardless of their response, is what God would have us do. I’m so glad you were able to be a Mercy nary (or whatever she called it). Definately a God thing!!!!!

    • Thanks for the comment Angie. Of all the things that I do in my daily grind, this is the hardest by far. One day we went to a house, and in the process of drilling the deadbolt, it turned. The man talked to the deputy, but refused to leave. They removed him. In the process of cleaning, we found 12 guns and much ammo. What if……? I thank God every day for a good one. God Bless You My Friend, Grant

      • Wow, Grant! That’s scary. Sounds like God is watching over you 🙂 Angie


Leave a Reply

Categories

