Posted by: grantahelms | January 2, 2014

New Year, New You

Hello friends. In order to keep up with the Jones’, as the old saying goes, I would like to take a moment to wish you all a Happy New Year. It is my sincerest hope that it was a happy and joyous time for you all. I hope that you were all sober, and that no one got hurt. I love you all.

Now, let’s get down to the nuts and bolts of the conversation. What does this “new” year mean to you? Are you one of those that sits down and makes resolutions that will disappear in the first few months? Will this be the year that you finally take that “dream vacation”? Do you resolve not to make resolutions in an effort to avoid failure? I have. Sad but true I know. My thoughts have always been that I fail enough through the year. Why would I want to set myself up for failure at the beginning?

no food  So, let’s start easy. 1) I resolve to lose 20 lbs. That’s simple. Right? If I cut back two sodas and walk a mile a day, it will be a reality. The reality of it is, do you want to lose 20 pounds from your summer weight or your winter weight? Face it, our weight fluctuates during the year. During the summer it is hot. You sweat a lot. You get out with your children or grandchildren. You walk. You swim. And you eat light. By January 1, you have eaten candy at Halloween, eaten at least one big meal at Thanksgiving, eaten at least one big meal for Christmas and laid around the house because it is cold outside. Face the facts. You have probably gained 15 pounds from what you were in August. Now after the ham, greens and black-eyed peas for New Year, you begin to lose weight. You are doing so good. Then you get a box of chocolates from your love for Valentines day. But you have lost 10 pounds, so it’s all good. Then because you lost 10 pounds, you celebrate by going out to your favorite Italian restaurant for a big plate of spaghetti. Slowly, you plateau. Then you get discouraged. Finally you give up. I know. I’ve been there.

no smokingSo, let’s start again. 2) I resolve to stop smoking. I know this is a hard one. But face it, they are expensive, they are nasty, they stink and they are bad for your health. Just like losing weight, this is imperative to making you healthier. So you go buy some nicotine patches and nicotine gum and you began replacing cigarettes with an acceptable substitute. Actually the only thing you are doing is getting rid of the tars and other chemicals that are associated with tobacco. Nicotine, which you are still ingesting has been proven to be the cause of high blood pressure and high heart rate in humans. Therefore it seems to me that all you are doing is smelling better. I applied these techniques and started back after 5.5 years when my stress levels increased. I am proud of those for whom it works after they kick the nicotine completely.

By now I am sure you are all wondering if I am going to speak negatively about ALL resolutions. The answer is no. Resolutions are a good way to focus on goals for the future, however, like wine, they are only healthy in moderation. And they have to be something that you sincerely want. Don’t go with the pack. Be yourself. With that said, here are my resolutions for 2014:

1)I resolve to continue to reduce my cigarette intake.

2)I resolve to continue to eat healthier in an attempt to lose more weight.

3)I resolve to continue to take my medications on a regular schedule.

4)I resolve to continue to find happiness in my life.

5)I resolve to be ME.

There it is. Short and real. I look forward to hearing what everyone resolves to do for themselves this year. Just remember to KISS. For those of you that don’t know, that means Keep It Simple Stupid. Don’t take it personally. It’s just an old saying. Happy New Year. I love y’all.smilely face

Leave a Reply

Categories

